Pauw Names Squad Ahead Of Mammoth Clash Against Ukraine

Vera Pauw names 30-player Irish squad ahead of crucial EURO qualifier against Ukraine.

Pauw Names Squad Ahead Of Mammoth Clash Against Ukraine
HerSport Editor
HerSport Editor

Manager Vera Pauw has announced a 30-player squad which will prepare for Ireland’s crucial game against Ukraine on October 23rd.
Ireland are bidding to qualify for the 2022 UEFA Women's European Championships – should they do so, it will be the first time Ireland have ever qualified for a major tournament.
There are no changes to the provisional squad selected from last month’s defeat to Germany. Pauw is expected to cut down the squad Friday week.
16-year old Kilkenny soccer starlet Ellen Molloy has once again earned a call-up to the squad after impressing so far for Wexford Youths. At just the tender age of 16, Molloy has a bright future ahead of her.

The crunch game takes place in Kiev on Friday October 23rd. A draw for Ireland will be enough to at minimum a second-place finish in Group I and at the very least, guarantee a play-off spot.
Group leaders Germany have already made sure of a place at EURO 2022, but second place - which is currently occupied by Ireland - remains up for grabs. A best runners-up spot, that guarantees automatic qualification, is also in contention.
As per UEFA rules, the nine group winners and the three best runners-up (not counting results against the sixth-placed team) qualify directly for the final tournament, while the remaining six runners-up advance to the two-legged Play-Offs that will be played in April 2021.
Ireland overcame Ukraine 3-2 in Tallaght Stadium on October 8th, 2019 (which was Pauw's first game in charge) and will be hoping to complete the double over the team who currently trail them by seven points.
Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Courtney Brosnan (West Ham United), Grace Moloney (Reading), Niamh Reid-Burke (Peamount United)
Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham City), Keeva Keenan (Celtic), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Louise Quinn (Fiorentina), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O'Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne), Aine O'Gorman (Peamount United)
Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Denise O'Sullivan (Brighton & Hove Albion - on loan from NC Courage), Alli Murphy (London City Lionesses), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Hayley Nolan (London City Lionesses), Ruesha Littlejohn (Leicester City), Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Stephanie Roche (Peamount United), Julie-Ann Russell (Sydney University)
Forwards: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham United), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kyra Carusa (HB Hoge)


Sign Up to our newsletter

Processing your request...

Follow us for more