New Ireland Boss Pauw Names First Squad Ahead Of Ukraine EURO 2021 Qualifier

New Ireland women's soccer team manager Vera Pauw has named her first squad ahead of the 2021 European qualifier against Ukraine in Tallaght stadium.

New Ireland Boss Pauw Names First Squad Ahead Of Ukraine EURO 2021 Qualifier
HerSport Editor
HerSport Editor

Pauw has selected a 23-player squad for the vital fixture which takes place at Tallaght Stadium on October 8 at 7.30pm with tickets available at
Having been confirmed as manager the day after the win over Montenegro in the first game of the Women’s EURO 2021 Qualifers, Pauw explained that it has been a real team effort between herself and her staff to confirm the squad.
“I would like to thank everybody who has helped me to get this squad together because there are players who are coming back from injury and others who have developed well that we have brought in and I needed a lot of information.
"Without all the help I have had I would not have been able to get a squad together that I am comfortable with, but I am very comfortable now with the squad I have named. We had open talks with everybody, including Ruud Dokter, Eileen Gleeson and Sue Ronan. Dave Connell has also described every single player for me, which is massive.”
Pauw is also set to meet with former manager Colin Bell on Thursday to get further details on the players and squad.
She said: “I will meet Colin Bell tomorrow to go through the group dynamics and the specifics of players in order to ensure a smooth transition from his programme to what we are going to do. Tom O’Connor was very supportive also. I don’t think we could be in a better situation as we don’t intend to do something different but to build on what has been happening. We obviously hope to develop further, but without the knowledge of what the team has done until now, we can’t do that. 
“The video analysis staff were also excellent help to me, Ger Dunne, Gary Seery and Andrew Holt all played their part in providing me with the footage that I needed of all the players we were looking at.”
Republic of Ireland Squad
Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Grace Moloney (Reading), Courtney Brosnan (West Ham United)
Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham City), Keeva Keenan (Celtic), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Claire O’Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Louise Quinn (Arsenal), Hayley Nolan (University of Hartford), Megan Campbell (Manchester City)
Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Megan Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Stephanie Roche (CF Florentia), Tyler Toland (Manchester City), Chloe Mustaki (Shelbourne)
Forwards: Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham United), Amber Barrett (FC Köln), Rianna Jarrett (Wexford Youths), Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Julie-Ann Russell (Sydney University)
October 8
Women’s EURO 2021 Qualifier: Republic of Ireland v Ukraine, Tallaght Stadium, Kick-off: 7.30pm 


Sign Up to our newsletter

Processing your request...

Follow us for more