2024 Ladies HEC All-Stars and Rising Stars announced

2024 Ladies HEC All-Stars and Rising Stars announced
HerSport Editor
HerSport Editor

The 2024 Ladies HEC All-Star and Rising Stars teams have been announced, celebrating the top performers from a very entertaining season of Ladies HEC third-level football.

MTU Cork played host to the finals of seven competitions across the weekend of March 7-9, to bring the 2024 championships to a close.

The finals kicked off with the third edition of the HEC Cup on March 7, followed by the deciders in the Lagan and Donaghy Cups.

International Women’s Day fell on Friday, March 8 and this was marked with semi-finals of the O’Connor, Moynihan and Lynch Cups, before the Giles Cup was awarded.


The weekend was brought to a close on Saturday March 9 with the finals of the Moynihan, Lynch and O’Connor Cups completing the line-up.


DCU Dóchas Éireann were once again the big winners of the weekend, with victories in the HEC, Lagan, and O’Connor Cups.

The Donaghy Cup proved to be a thrilling affair, as University of Limerick claimed the spoils after defeating University of Ulster on kicks.

Meanwhile, MTU Kerry were crowned Giles Cup champions, while ATU Sligo took home the Moynihan Cup following an emotional win for the team, who dedicated victory to their dearly departed former team-mate, Ella O’Neill.

The penultimate game of the weekend was narrowly won by UCC, following victory over hosts MTU Cork in the Lynch Cup Final, but their O’Connor Cup side lost out to reigning champions DCU Dóchas Éireann, following extra-time in the day’s big encounter.

And it is DCU DÉ who lead the way in the All-Star team, with seven players included.

Offaly’s Kate Kenny, player of the match in the 2023 final, is once again named in the side after her contribution of 1-3 in the 2024 final. She joins teammates Robyn Murray, Claire Dunne and Róisín Ennis, who are also picking up back-to-back All-Stars. There are also accolades for DCU DÉ’s Niamh Crowley, Chloe Darby and captain Emma Duggan.

Meanwhile, runners-up UCC have six representatives from their O’Connor Cup side in the team.

Dara Kiniry collects another accolade and is joined by Kellyann Hogan, Rosie Corkery and Player of the Match in the O’Connor Cup Final, Aoife Healy. Among the All-Star forwards are UCC’s Ellie Jack and Abigail Ring.

There is one player named from UCC’s Lynch Cup side, Emily Lacey, who was named Player of the Match in their final victory over MTU Cork. The team is completed by MTU Kerry’s Danielle O’Leary who inspired her side to their win over Maynooth in the Giles Final with two goals and a Player of the Match award.

The Ladies HEC Rising Stars team recognises the contribution of players across the HEC, Lagan, Donaghy, and Moynihan Cups.

ATU Sligo dominate the side, with six players included.

Captain Róisín Rodgers is named at centre-back alongside Ellen O’Donoghue in defence.

The Final’s Player of the Match, Orla Hennessy, gets the nod at centre-forward while the inclusions of Dearbhaile Lynch, Niamh Boyle, and Rebecca Higgins complete their contingent.

Moynihan finalists Maynooth have four Rising Stars included in the Rising Stars selection.

Limerick duo Sophie Hennessy and Ciara Hynes are named in the side alongside Cork’s Elizabeth McGrath and half-forward Aoife Brazil.

DCU DÉ have two representatives, one apiece from their victorious HEC and Lagan Cup teams in Síofra Galvin and Kira Bryan.

Maynooth University’s Sadhbh Fisher and Annmarie Keegan, and Laura Moran from University of Limerick’s Donaghy team, complete the Rising Stars list for 2024.

The winners will receive their awards at a ceremony at the Bonnington Hotel, Dublin, on Friday, March 22nd.

Ladies HEC All-Stars 2024

1. Robyn Murray – DCU DÉ

2. Claire Dunne – DCU DÉ

3. Dara Kiniry – UCC

4. Niamh Crowley – DCU DÉ

5. Róisín Ennis – DCU DÉ

6. Aoife Healy – UCC

7. Rosie Corkery – UCC

8. Kellyann Hogan – UCC

9. Chloe Darby – DCU DÉ

10. Emily Lacey – UCC (2)

11. Emma Duggan – DCU DÉ

12. Abigail Ring – UCC

13. Ellie Jack – UCC

14. Kate Kenny – DCU DÉ

15. Danielle O'Leary – MTU Kerry

Ladies HEC Rising Stars 2024

1. Sophie Hennessy – MICL (2)

2. Ellen O'Donoghue – ATU Sligo

3. Elizabeth McGrath – MICL (2)

4. Kira Bryan – DCU DÉ (2)

5. Ciara Hynes – MICL (2)

6. Róisín Rodgers – ATU Sligo

7. Aoife Brazil – MICL (2)

8. Annmarie Keegan – MU (2)

9. Niamh Boyle – ATU Sligo

10. Dearbhaile Lynch – ATU Sligo

11. Orla Hennessy – ATU Sligo

12. Síofra Galvin – DCU DÉ (7)

13. Laura Moran – UL (4)

14. Rebecca Higgins – ATU Sligo

15. Sadhbh Fisher – MU (2)

Sign Up to our newsletter

Stay in the game! Get top women's sports stories, event updates, and exclusive competitions delivered to your inbox weekly!

Processing your request...

Follow us for more

Sign Up to our newsletter

Stay in the game! Get top women's sports stories, event updates, and exclusive competitions delivered to your inbox weekly!

Processing your request...

Follow us for more