Ireland Team Announced Ahead Of Six Nations Opener Vs Wales

Ireland have named their team ahead of the opening TikTok Women’s Six Nations game against Wales at the RDS. Three players are in line to receive their first caps.

Ireland Team Announced Ahead Of Six Nations Opener Vs Wales
HerSport Editor
HerSport Editor

Head Coach Greg McWilliams has named his Ireland Match Day 23, sponsored by Aon, for Saturday’s opening TikTok Women’s Six Nations game against Wales at The RDS (Kick-off 4.45pm, live on Virgin Media One/BBC Two Northern Ireland).

Nichola Fryday will captain Ireland for the Round 1 clash in Dublin, with three uncapped players included in the Match Day 23.

Aoibheann Reilly has been named to start at scrum-half having impressed for Blackrock College during the Energia All-Ireland League season, while forwards Christy Haney and Anna McGann are set for their first Test caps off the bench.

In his first game in charge, McWilliams has opted for an exciting blend of youth and experience in his side having worked closely with the extended squad during a series of preparatory camps at the IRFU High Performance Centre.


Ireland Team vs Wales 2022

Linda Djougang, Neve Jones and Katie O’Dwyer are named to start in the front row, with Sam Monaghan joining newly-appointed captain Fryday in the second row.

Dorothy Wall has returned from injury having missed last Autumn’s November Series to start at blindside flanker, with Edel McMahon selected at openside and Brittany Hogan at number eight.

Reilly, who has featured on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series for Ireland, partners Nicole Cronin in the half-backs, with the Limerick native returning to the green jersey to win her 17th Test cap.


There is a new-look centre partnership with Stacey Flood linking up with Eve Higgins in midfield, while Lucy Mulhall, Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe and Eimear Considine make up an exciting back three.

Haney and McGann are among the replacements tasked with making a big impact, with Emma Hooban, Chloe Pearse and Hannah O’Connor providing the other reinforcements for McWilliams up front. Kathryn Dane, Enya Breen and Beibhinn Parsons complete the 23.

Commenting on his selection, McWilliams said: "This is a great start for us as a group, we’re really excited about the youth and experience in the team. We’ll learn a lot from this game, but for these players to go out and represent Ireland at the RDS is going to be special. It’ll be a great occasion and I’m excited to see how they perform, because we’ve got through a lot of work over the last couple of weeks."

Ireland team: Eimear Considine, Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe, Eve Higgins, Stacey Flood, Lucy Mulhall, Nicole Cronin, Aoibheann Reilly, Linda Djougang, Neve Jones, Katie O’Dwyer, Nichola Fryday, Sam Monaghan, Dorothy Wall, Edel McMahon , Brittany Hogan

Replacements: Emma Hooban, Chloe Pearse, Christy Haney, Anna McGann, Hannah O'Connor, Kathryn Dane, Enya Breen, Beibhinn Parsons

Sign Up to our newsletter

Stay in the game! Get top women's sports stories, event updates, and exclusive competitions delivered to your inbox weekly!

Processing your request...

Follow us for more