Ireland Name Exciting Squad For Clash Against The USA

Ireland have named a squad mixed with youth and experience to take on the USA. Beibhinn Parsons could be set to make her rugby debut at the age of 16.

Ireland Name Exciting Squad For Clash Against The USA Ireland Name Exciting Squad For Clash Against The USA
HerSport Editor

The Irish Women’s Rugby team to take on the USA in Energia Park, sees four new uncapped players included in what is squad of both youth and experience.
Talented 16-year old Beibhinn Parsons, is set to make her Irish debut off the bench after being named amongst the replacements. Last week Parson’s was part of the Connacht team which claimed the national girl’s X7’s title.
Parsons has come progressed through the IRFU’s ‘Women’s Talent ID programme’ and is set to become the youngest player to wear the green jersey in an International test match in the modern era as she turns 17 later this month.

St. Mary’s Emma Hooban will also hope to win her first cap for Ireland if she features from the bench.
Ireland head coach Adam Griggs has also named two other debutants in the starting XV. IQ Rugby Programme fullback Lauren Delany and Munster winger Laura Sheehan are part of an exciting back-three to take on the USA. Sheehan’s club-mate Eimear Considine features on the opposite wing.
The squad will be captained by back-rower Ciara Griffin whilst Leinster’s Nikki Caughey starts at out-half.
Hooker Sarah Mimnagh has earned a call up for the first time since she last featured for Ireland in the 2015 Six Nations.
Ireland Squad
15. Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo Ladies/IQ Rugby) *
14. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster)
13. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
12. Michelle Claffey (Blackrock/Leinster)
11. Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
10. Nikki Caughey (Railway Union/Leinster)
9. Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster)

1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)
2. Sarah Mimnagh (Richmond/IQ Rugby)
3. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster)
4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)
5. Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/Leinster)
6. Edel McMahon (Galwegians/Connacht)
7. Claire Molloy (Wasps)
8. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
16. Emma Hooban (St. Mary's/Leinster) *
17. Laura Feely (Galwegians/Connacht)
18. Leah Lyons (Harlequins)
19. Nichola Fryday (Galwegians/Connacht)
20. Jeamie Deacon (Blackrock/Leinster)
21. Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
22. Claire McLaughlin (Old Belvedere/Ulster)
23. Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Connacht) *

Sign Up to our newsletter

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Follow us for more

Copyright © 2022. Developed & Designed by Square1 and powered by