Ireland to Compete At EuroHockey Championships

Ireland to Compete At EuroHockey Championships
Shannon O'Connor
Shannon O'Connor

The EuroHockey Championships for the senior women are about to be underway in Mönchengladbach, Germany, with the first match being this Friday, August 18.

At the tournament a total of eight teams will compete across two pools, Pool A and Pool B. The four teams in each pool will compete against each other first. The top two in each pool qualify for the semi-finals.

Ireland is competing in Pool B, and will play against England, Germany, and Scotland.

Team Ireland, 13th in the world, will compete in the first game of the tournament against England, sixth in the world, on Friday, August 18, at 16:00 Irish Standard Time (IST).


Ireland will play Scotland, 18th in the world, on Saturday, August 19, at 19:15 IST. They will then play Germany, fourth in the world, on Tuesday, August 22, at 18:30 IST.


Ireland needs to have a top six finish in the tournament to secure a spot in January's 2024 Olympic Qualification groups.

"As a group we have made fantastic improvements over the past 12 months on and off the field and we have high ambitions, knowing the tough challenge of a very competitive European Championship. This year's European's also doubles as the first step of the Olympic Qualification process, adding extra pressure on all those involved," said Head Coach Sean Dancer.

Pool A:

  1. Belgium
  2. Italy
  3. Netherlands
  4. Spain

Pool B:

  1. England
  2. Germany
  3. Ireland
  4. Scotland

We had Sarah Torrens, Irish National Hockey Team Player, join us on the Her Sport Show where she talks about the European championships and her journey to the Tokyo Olympics.

Sarah will compete on Friday with Team Ireland at the EuroHockey Championships, as they go up against England, and continue on their journey to qualify for Paris 2024.

Watch it here:

Sign Up to our newsletter

Processing your request...

Follow us for more