Three iconic venues set to play host in 2023 ICC Women's T20 World Cup

Three iconic venues set to play host in 2023 ICC Women's T20 World Cup Three iconic venues set to play host in 2023 ICC Women's T20 World Cup
Neasa Kennedy

The stage is set for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 in South Africa, with three iconic venues set to play host to 23 fixtures.

All three stadiums already have World Cup histories, having all hosted matches in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2003.

Now Ireland are among the 10 qualified teams who will be hoping to create their own memorable moments in these sporting stadiums this coming February in the 2023 ICC Women's T20 World Cup.

The venues announced are:


Newlands Cricket Ground, Cape Town 

When the champions are crowned on February 26th, they will lift the trophy in the iconic surrounds of Newlands Cricket Ground.

Overlooked by Table Mountain, Newlands is one of cricket’s most picturesque venues and the Cape Town suburb will host the final, as well as the opener and both semi-finals.

With a capacity of 25,000, the atmosphere is set to be electric, with action here getting underway between hosts South Africa and Sri Lanka on February 10th, while runners-up last time India will play two of their group games here.


Rivals Pakistan will be the first to face India in an exciting match-up, before the West Indies are their opponents three days later.

In Group B, Ireland will play both Pakistan and the West Indies, before England take on Pakistan in the final group stage game on February 21st.

In Group A, Bangladesh will take the Newlands pitch three times, as they face Sri Lanka, New Zealand, and then hosts South Africa.

St George’s Park Cricket Ground, Gqeberha 

Reigning champions Australia will soon become familiar with St George’s Park, with three of their four group games taking place in Port Elizabeth.

Up to 19,000 fans will be packed in for a total of five matches and the action begins on February 14th.

Australia will then take on Sri Lanka and South Africa in Group A, before focus will switch to Group B as England take on India on February 18th and Ireland and India play the final game at St George’s Park two days later.

Boland Park, Paarl 

Boland Park will host six matches across the group stage, with play getting underway in Paarl when Australia take on New Zealand before the White Ferns play hosts South Africa two days later.

The stadium will host three double headers, with England and the West Indies also in action alongside Australia and New Zealand on February 11th.

England then welcome Ireland two days later before February 19th sees New Zealand play Sri Lanka and Pakistan take on West Indies.

The six matches in 2023 is double the tally the 10,000 fans that can fit into Boland Park were treated to almost two decades ago, with just three matches during the 2003 Men’s Cricket World Cup.

Sign Up to our newsletter

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Follow us for more

Copyright © 2023. Developed & Designed by Square1 and powered by