20 Strong Irish Team Set For European U18 Championships

20 Strong Irish Team Set For European U18 Championships 20 Strong Irish Team Set For European U18 Championships
HerSport Editor

A team of 20 athletes from all 4 provinces are set to represent Ireland at the European U18 Championships in Israel from July 4th to 7th 2022.

This will be the third edition of these championships, and the first edition since the championships were hosted in Hungary in 2018. The 2022 edition promises to be ultra-competitive with 991 athletes from 48 countries set to battle it out.

This year’s Irish team is representative of all the track & field disciplines; sprints, hurdles, middle distance, walks, jumps and throws.

On the track, Neil Culhane (ACE A.C.) will go into the week boasting a season’s best of 1.52.91 for 800m which would rank him 5th of the 26th entered based on season’s best times.


Fintan Dewhirst of Tir Chonaill A.C. also comes here on the back of a tremendously consistent season. His SB of 52.98 would rank him 5th of the 31 entered in the 400m hurdles.

Elizabeth Ndudi is one to look out for in the long jump from an Irish perspective, with the DSD athlete having already posted a PB of 6.36m this season which would rank 3rd of the 21 athletes entered in the long jump competition.

All four days of the European Athletics U18 Championships will be streamed live on the European Athletics website.

Event Website: HERE
Timetable HERE
Entry list by season’s best HERE



Full Irish Team

European Under 18 Championship Team
Name Club Coach Event(s)
Aisling Lane Mullingar Michael Lane 5,000m Walk
Ava Rochford Nenagh Martin O'Grady High Jump
Elizabeth Ndudi DSD Julien Guilard Long Jump


Kirsti Foster Willowfield Harriers Davy Foster 1500m
Niamh Murray Bray Runners Aine Murray 400m
Victoria Amiadamen Dooneen PJ O'Rourke 400mh
Andrew Glennon Mullingar Michael Lane 10,000m Walk
Diarmuid Fagan Mullingar Joe Ryan 1500m
Finn O'Neill Lifford Strabane Wendy Phillips, Jim Alexander, Phillip Snoddy Decathlon
Fintan Dewhirst Tir Chonaill Brian McGonagle 400mh
Harry Colbert Waterford Des Colbert 3000m
Jack Fenlon St.Abban's Eamonn Kelly 3000m
Jack Kelly Tallagh Johnny Fox 800m
Liam Shaw Athenry Iain Shaw Shot
Lughaidh Mallon Lagan Valley Jim McKeown 1500m
Max O'Reilly Riverstick Kinsale Dave Keating 100m
Neil Culhane Ace Liam Cooney 800m
Oisín Joyce Lake District Padraic Joyce Javelin
Sam O'Sullivan Clonmel Frank Lynch 10,000m Walk
Sean Carmody Leevale John Naughton 400mh

Sign Up to our newsletter

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Follow us for more

Copyright © 2022. Developed & Designed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com