Scott Bemand Names Ireland Women’s Rugby Squad For WXV3 Tournament in Dubai

Scott Bemand Names Ireland Women’s Rugby Squad For WXV3 Tournament in Dubai
Gina Bagnulo
Gina Bagnulo

Photo by Paul Devlin

Head coach of Ireland women’s rugby, Scott Bemand, has confirmed his team for the World Rugby WXV3 Tournament that is to be held in Dubai from 13 October to 4 November.

Of the proposed roster, six players will be coming into their first senior squad and have the potential to earn their first international cap - Clara Barrett, Ruth Campbell, Megan Collis, Eimear Corri, Sarah Delaney and Katie Whelan.

“The playing group has been brilliant, embracing a new culture and training identity that will lay the foundations for future success”, said Bemand in regard to his team choice.


He added, “We know what we’re going after and I'm excited to see them bring it to life in WXV.”

The team will leave for Dubai on 6 October prior to facing Kazakhstan for their first game on 13 October. This game will be followed by a match against Colombia on 21 October before facing Spain on 28 October.


According to the Irish Rugby Football Union (IRFU), the squad is as follows:


Aoife Wafer (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster) 1
Brittany Hogan (Old Belvedere RFC/Ulster) 15
Christy Haney (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster) 10
Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College RFC/Munster) 20
Edel McMahon (Exeter Chiefs) 21
Eimear Corri (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)*
Fiona Tuite (Old Belvedere RFC/Ulster)*
Grace Moore (Saracens/IQ Rugby) 10
Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster) 29
Maeve Óg O’Leary (Blackrock College RFC/Munster) 4
Megan Collis (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)*
Neve Jones (Gloucester-Hartpury) 18
Niamh O’Dowd (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster) 1
Ruth Campbell (MU Barnhall RFC/Leinster)*
Sadhbh McGrath (City of Derry/Cooke RFC/Ulster) 5
Sam Monaghan (Gloucester-Hartpury/IQ Rugby) 15
Sarah Delaney (Cill Dara RFC/Leinster)*


Aoibheann Reilly (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht) 4
Aoife Dalton (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster) 7
Aoife Doyle (Railway Union RFC/Munster) 17
Béibhinn Parsons (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht) 18
Clara Barrett (Ballina RFC/Connacht)*
Dannah O’Brien (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster) 7
Eve Higgins (Railway Union RFC/Leinster) 9
Katie Whelan (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)*
Leah Tarpey (Railway Union RFC/Leinster) 2
Méabh Deely (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht) 7
Molly Scuffil-McCabe (Railway Union RFC/Leinster) 9
Nicole Fowley (Galwegians RFC/Connacht) 8
Natasja Behan (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster) 7


Sign Up to our newsletter

Processing your request...

Follow us for more