AFLW Announces A 10-Round Regular Season For The Eighth Year Of The League

AFLW Announces A 10-Round Regular Season For The Eighth Year Of The League
Shannon O'Connor
Shannon O'Connor

The AFLW (Australian Women’s Football League) recently announced that there will be a 10-round regular season in 2023.

The finalized eighth season consists of 10-round home and away games with four weeks of finals, which is the same length as season seven in 2022.

AFLW players had pushed for a 12-round competition plus finals, but agreed to the 10-match season so the fixture could be locked in.

The change comes after there had been numerous complaints from players, advocating for more organization, press, and longer seasons. According to ESPN, the 2022 Grand Final venues were not finalized until 9 days before the decider. This year, the Grand Final venues have already been locked in for all 18 teams.


Australian Football League Players Association (AFLPA) CEO Paul Marsh reiterated that CBA negotiations remain ongoing.


"The AFLW players are deeply committed to the growth of the AFLW competition as partners in the game," said Marsh.

The season will begin on September 1 and the Grand Final will be on December 3.

"The AFL is incredibly proud of the growth women’s football in the past seven years and remain committed to growing the competition in a sustainable way as we continue to invest heavily in driving attendance and viewership this season,” said AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan said.

The possible Grand Final venues are:

* Alberton Oval: Port Adelaide
* Norwood Oval: Adelaide
* Brighton Homes Arena: Brisbane and Gold Coast
* Fremantle Oval: Fremantle
* GMHBA Stadium: Geelong
* Henson Park: GWS and Sydney
* Leederville Oval: West Coast
* Ikon Park: Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Hawthorn, Melbourne, North Melbourne, Richmond, St Kilda and Western Bulldogs

Sign Up to our newsletter

Processing your request...

Follow us for more