Gaelic Football

Foxrock-Cabinteely To Face Mourneabbey In All-Ireland Club Final

Cork and Munster champions Mourneabbey, will face Dublin and Leinster champions Foxrock-Cabinteely, in the All-Ireland Ladies Senior Club Football final on December 8.

Both sides have previously made it to the the All-Ireland final however there will be a new name on the Dolores Tyrrell Memorial Cup, as neither side has tasted glory before.

Mourneabey (Cork) 1-14

Kilkerrin/Clonberne (Galway) 0-9

Mourneabey marched into the All-Ireland Senior Ladies Club Football Final for the fourth time in five seasons after defeating Connacht champions Kilkerrin-Clonberne.

In the opening exchanges, the Galway outfit enjoyed much of the possession and territory and were denied an early goal but for a fabulous save by Mouneabey’s goalkeeper, Maebh O’Sullivan. Kilkerrin-Clonberne did open the scoring but were quickly pegged back when Doireann O’Sullivan landed the first of her eight scores.

Doireann O’Sullivan and Ciara O’Sullivan, both sisters, claimed 0-11 between them in front of a huge crowd at the Clonberne Sports Field.

From the tenth minute onwards, after some resolute defending, Mourneabey wrestled back the ascendency and kicked seven unanswered points. Kilkerrin-Clonberne had their chances and will look back ruefully as they were wasteful in-front of goal.

At half-time, Ailish Morrissey and Olivia Divilly added more points for the Cork outfit to leave Kilkerrin-Clonberne trailing by 0-4 to 0-9.

After the break, Kilkerrin-Clonberne rallied and increased the tempo with Annette Clarke and the impressive Chloe Miskell adding points to reduce the deficit. The Munster champions however proved too classy and strong as Doireann O’Sullivan kept the points coming for the four-time finalists.

With time running out and Kilkerrin-Clonberne throwing everything they had at the Munster champions, Eimear Harrington put the game to bed as she converted a goal in stoppage time to ensure a fourth final in five seasons for Mourneabey.


Kilkerrin/Clonberne Scorers: A Clarke 0-4, C Dunleavy 0-2, A Morrissey, O Divilly, C Miskell 0-1 each

Mourneabbey Scorers: D O’Sullivan 0-8 (1f), E Harrington 1-1, C O’Sullivan 0-3, L Fitzgerald, E Jack 0-1 each


Kilkerrin-Clonberne: L Murphy; A Costello, S Gormally, C Costello; S Fahy, L Gannon, H Noone; S Divilly, C Miskell; L Noone, L Ward, O Divilly; N Ward, A Clarke, A Morrissey.

Subs: A Morrissey for K Mee (13), O Divilly for E Noone (22).

Mourneabbey: M O’Sullivan; E Meaney, C.A. Stack, A O’Sullivan; S Conroy, R O’Sullivan, K Coakley; M O’Callaghan, B O’Sullivan; E Harrington, C O’Sullivan, N O’Sullivan; E Jack, L Fitzgerald, D O’Sullivan

Subs: S O’Callaghan for N O’Sullivan (38), L Fitzgerald for A Cronin (34)

Foxrock-Cabinteely (Dublin) 2-08

Donaghmoyne (Monaghan) 1-08

Foxrock-Cabinteely will join Mourneabbey in the All-Ireland Senior Ladies Club Football Final after a dramatic late goal saw them defeat Monaghan’s Donaghmoyne in Bray Emmets.

In a repeat of the 2015 semi-final and 2016 final, the Dublin and Leinster champions Foxrock-Cabinteely took on Monaghan and Ulster Champions, Donaghmoyne. It was a case of third take lucky as Foxrock-Cabinteely finally got the better of their counterparts.

Packed with Dublin All-Ireland Senior championship winners including Sinead Goldrick, Niamh Collins, Amy Connolly, Hannah O’Neill, Emma McDonagh and Tarah O’Sullivan as well as former Dublin star Amy Ring, Foxrock Cabinteely have been in superb form of late.

It took late drama however to separate the two sides as super-sub Roisin McGovern proved the match-winner after a breathtaking run from Sinead Goldrick from her own half.


? VIDEO: See the late late goal that sent @OFFICIALFoxCab into the All Ireland Senior Club Final, scored by substitute Roisin McGovern!

Huge drama against @LadiesDmoyne !! @dublinladiesg @LeinsterLGFA (via @JeromeQuinn)

— Ladies Football (@LadiesFootball) November 18, 2018

With the scores level at 1-8 each. McGovern punched home a famous goal to send Foxrock-Cabinteely through to the final to face Mourneabbey on December 8. Roisin McGovern is also a Republic of Ireland soccer international.

At the half-time interval, Donaghmoyne skipper Cora Courtney’s scored a goal to leave the Monaghan side two points ahead at the break.

With the game end-to-end after the break, both goalkeepers were forced into action as the sides became evenly matched.

With time running out and the scores level the Leinster champions, worked the ball to McGovern who finished the move with the back of the net buldging. After a semi-final defeat to Donaghmoyne in 2015 and final defeat in 2016, Foxrock Cabinteely enacted their revenge and will hope to go one better on 8 December.


Foxrock Cabinteely Scorers: A. Ring 1-04 (1f), R. McGovern (1-00), L. Nerney, (0-01), A. Connolly (0-01), F. Claffey (0-01), J. Egan (0-01)

Donaghmoyne Scorers: C. McConnell (0-03, 3f), C. Courtney (1-00), A. Garland (0-02), N. Callan (0-01), S. McConnell (0-01), L. Kerley (0-01, 1f)


FoxrockCabinteely: A. Tarpey, A. Murray, S. Quinn, E. McDonagh, S. Goldrick, N.Collins, L. Fusciardi, T. O’Sullivan, C. Ni Mhurchadh, L. Nerney, A. Connolly, F. Claffey, H. O’Neill, C. O’Riordan, A. Ring (C).

Subs: R. McGovern for O’Riordan (‘39), J. Egan for Fusciardi (‘45)

Donaghmoyne: L. Martin, J. Geoghegan, F. Courtney, L.Garland, H. Kingham, S. Courtney, J. Courtney, N. Callan, R. Courtney, A. Garland, L. Kerley, E. Treanor, C. McConnell, C. Courtney, S. McConnell.

Subs: A. Keenan for Kingham (‘3), A. McElroy for S. McConnell (‘47)

HerSport Editor

Her Sport is a platform giving girls and women a voice in sport. Our mission is to level the playing field through increasing visibility, education and creating a cultural shift.
Back to top button